FERC Quorum Finally Restored – Full Speed Ahead on Pipe Projects

Yesterday the U.S. Senate finally approved Neil Chatterjee and Robert Powelson as the newest commissioners for the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC). Which means FERC now has a quorum of three voting members and can, once again, begin issuing final approvals for important pipeline projects that are currently stalled waiting for an approval. Among those important projects (in the Marcellus/Utica region) are Dominion’s Atlantic Coast Pipeline, PennEast Pipeline, NEXUS Pipeline and Mountain Valley Pipeline. FERC has not had a quorum of three (or more) voting members since February, when Norman “cry baby” Bay left the commission in a huff in early February over being demoted as chairman of FERC to just regular member (see FERC Commissioner Resigns Threatening Major M-U Pipeline Projects). President Trump was tardy in appointing two new members. But then New York Sen. Chuck “the schmuck” Schumer decided he would delay it longer, just because he hates Donald Trump. Yesterday the Senate finally took was is called a “unanimous consent” vote, a rubber stamp approving the new members. And now they go to work. Immediately, the sole commissioner left at the agency, Democrat Cheryl LaFleur, tweeted this message: “Happy day! Very excited to work with new Commissioners Chatterjee and Powelson!” We share her enthusiasm!…

Please Login to view this content. (Not a member? Join Today!)
You do not have permission to view the comments.

Please Login to post a comment