US Senate Votes to Confirm Final 2 FERC Commissioners

In July, President Trump nominateed Kevin McIntyre, co-leader of the global Energy Practice at the Jones Day law firm, as the fifth (and final) FERC commissioner (see Pres. Trump Finally Nominates Kevin McIntyre to FERC, as Chairman). At that time, Trump also signaled he will make McIntyre chairman of the commission. Previously to that, Trump had nominated Richard Glick–a Chuck Schumer Democrat pick. McIntyre and Glick are the final two Commission members, rounding out a full compliment of five. Trump had previously nominated (later confirmed and now serving) Neil Chatterjee and Rob Powelson. It took the swamp dwellers in the Senate from July until November, but yesterday afternoon the Senate finally confirmed McIntyre and Glick. As soon as they are sworn in, McIntyre will take over the Chairman role from Chatterjee who has been serving in that role as a placeholder (doing a good job, we might add). One of the key issues ahead for all five commissioners is what to do about DOE Sec. Rick Perry’s “save coal and nuke energy” plan. Two of Trump’s picks, Chatterjee and Powelson, already disagree on what to do about Perry’s proposal (see Trump’s FERC Commissioners Disagree on Grid Reliability Plan). Here’s how it went down with the Senate vote to approve McIntyre and Glick…

Please Login to view this content. (Not a member? Join Today!)
You do not have permission to view the comments.

Please Login to post a comment