Impotent DRBC Killing Farmers in Wayne County, PA with Moratorium

Sadly, there’s a large swath of land in northeastern Pennsylvania, in Wayne and surrounding counties (see map below), that has the same disease as all of New York State. It’s called a shale drilling moratorium. Why is there a moratorium in Wayne County? Most of Wayne, all of Pike County and parts of a few other NE PA counties are located within the Delaware River Basin Commission’s jurisdiction, which has had a ban in place since 2010. The DRBC is controlled by five voting members: the governors of Pennsylvania, New York, Delaware and New Jersey, plus a member of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. It’s hard enough to get one state government to sign off on drilling–but four? Including NY?? Good luck with that.

An article in yesterday’s Wilkes-Barre Citizens’ Voice looks at how the impotent DRBC is killing farmers in NE PA with their moratorium…

Please Login to view this content. (Not a member? Join Today!)
You do not have permission to view the comments.

Please Login to post a comment