Flags at Half-Staff Again – Another NY Town (Stupidly) Bans Fracking

Lower the flags at town halls across the state to half-staff once again to mourn the fact that another small misguided group of people have destroyed any chance their neighbors will be able to lease their land and allow safe drilling for natural gas. This time it’s happened in the Town of Otisco, NY. The vote to strip away landowners’ rights was unanimous by five people–we list their names below and when their terms expire just in case you want to vote against them next time around…

The Otisco town board Monday approved a local law essentially banning hydrofracking, the practice of shooting fluid into bedrock to release gas trapped underground.

The board received a standing ovation from the audience that filled the meeting room after members unanimously approved the local law banning “high impact industrial activities,” said Town Clerk Tammy Ayers.

The town has had a moratorium on fracking since 2010.

Other towns in the western end of Onondaga County that have already banned the industrial practices associated with fracking include: Marcellus, Onondaga, Skaneateles and Spafford.*

    Yes it is ironic that the very town for which the Marcellus is named has banned fracking. Their loss.

    Here are the misguided local office-holders who screwed all of their neighbors out of their Constitutional property rights, along with when you have the next opportunity to vote them out of office:

    Town Supervisor

    • Wayne Amato – term ends 2014

    Town Board Members

    • George Cook – term ends 2014
    • Stan Edinger – term ends 2014
    • Steve Loetterle – term ends 2016
    • Teal Trendowski – term ends 2016

    *Syracuse (NY) (Apr 9, 2013) – Otisco approves law aimed at hydrofracking